Archaeological findings have determined that the chasseurs-éleveurs had immigrated from Scotland to Ireland to 7000 BC. , And that 4000 years later, the company had become a kind of agrarian society. In the fourth century BC. J.-C ., Celtic tribes from Europe invaded the region. The population was divided into clans (tuatha) and the country into five kingdoms: Connaught, Leinster, Meath, Munster and Ulster.

In the year 432 AD, the Christian missionary St. Patrick arrived in Ireland, until his death thirty years later, the entire population of the island was converted to Christianity. The Irish monks then began to transcribe the history and traditions of the country. The Vikings invaded and plundered much of the country in the early ninth century. They founded towns along rivers, and thus were born Dublin, Waterford, Cork and Limerick. The Vikings were forced out in 1014, and the region fell to the English, who began to extend their domination over the country. In the twelfth century, Christianity in Ireland came under the control of the Roman Catholic Church.

In the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries, during the Reformation, the English tried to convert the Irish Protestantism they persecuted priests and bishops, and religious practices condemned Catholics. During the seventeenth century, they evicted many Irish Catholics in the north and distribuèrent their land to the Protestant English and Scots.

When Jacques II, who was Catholic, was crowned king of England in 1685, the Irish believed able to regain possession of their lands. But the king was dethroned three years later. He went to Ireland, where he raised an army with the aim of regaining the throne. He had, however, bowing to the Protestant king, William III at the Battle of Boyne in 1690. In the hundred years that followed, England strengthened its grip on Ireland, and all the riches of the country passed into the hands of Anglo-Irlandais. In 1798, the Irish rebelled against the English, but in vain. At the end of the uprising, the Irish Parliament was abolished, and Ireland was attached to the United Kingdom by the Act of Union of 1800. During the nineteenth century, the Irish attempted several times to regain control of their country, but without success.

In April 1916, in Dublin, a group of revolutionaries declared independence from Ireland: it is what is called the “Revolt of Easter.” The British étouffèrent revolt, but it fueled Irish nationalism. During the elections of 1918, the Irish Republican won a majority of seats in parliament English. But instead of going to London, they implantèrent their own parliament in Dublin. On Jan. 21, 1919, they again declared the independence of Ireland, which led to the Anglo-Irish war. The 26 counties of southern formed the new Irish Free State, and six counties in the north, populated largely Protestant, remained attached to the United Kingdom. If the Chamber of Deputies Irish accepted the treaty, a good portion of the population opposed. S’ensuivit une guerre civile qui dura jusqu’en 1923. On April 18, 1949, the Irish Free State broke any official link with Britain and became an independent republic. Irish nationalists hoped that the twenty-first century will finally reunite Ireland.

Leave a Reply